Our Jurors

Our jurors have personally selected the winners but will not all be able to be in Japan for the festival.


A computer graphics pioneer with over 35 years of experience in the film and animation industry.  He has worked on films such as “Beauty and the Beast” (1991) and “Aladdin” (1992), and has also co-directed notable films including “Arthur Christmas” (2011).  For his feature debut “Mulan” (1998), he received the Annie Award for “Best Individual Achievement for Feature Directing.”   Barry is currently writing the screenplay for the animated feature film “Race to be King”.


A Japanese producer, who helmed a number of shows in Japan and internationally.  His works include renowned films such as “Inception” (2010), “Wasabi” (2001), “Tetsujin 28” (2005), “Black Belt” (2007) , “Detective Mitarai’s Casebook:  The Clockwork Current” (2016) and more.


An award-winning producer who has been involved in some of the biggest films in history, including “The Passion of the Christ” (2004), “The Chronicles of Narnia” (2005), “Ray” (2004) and “Holes” (2003). He was a producer on “Max Rose” (2013) starring Jerry Lewis and “The Vessel” (2016) starring Martin Sheen, and is currently producing the films “Reagan” starring Dennis Quaid and “Dark Horse” starring Tim Allen.


Legendary award-winning producer of “Star Wars-Episode VI-Return of The Jedi” (1983) and “Raiders of the Lost Ark” (1981), and is a former Vice President of Lucasfilm, Ltd.

Joe Eszterhas

Hungarian-born screenwriter.  His films “Flashdance” (1983) and “The Ice Smile” (1992) among many others were big hits and brought him international fame.  In 2006 he produced “Your Tears Flow in Hungary” in his native Hungary.

Janet scott Batchler

Writer and director, known for “Pompeii” (2014), “Batman Forever” (1995) and “My Name is Modesty” (2004) among others.  She has collaborated often with her husband, Lee Batchler in many of her works.

Gray Frederickson

Oscar-winning producer of “The Godfather Part II” (1974) and was nominated for his work on the film “Apocalypse Now” (1979).

Ralph Winter

Award-winning producer of the films “X2:  X-Men United” (2003), “Fantastic Four” (2005), “Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon:  Sword of Destiny” (2016) and others.

Gerald R. Molen

Academy Award-winning producer of “Schindler’s List” (1993) and has also produced the films “Jurassic Park” (1993), “Rain Man” (1988) and “Minority Report” (2002) among many other notable films.

our sponsors